The Liebster Award

Thank you so much Hannah from Simply Haynes,. She has nominated How to be Merri for the Liebster Award, so thank you again. I am honoured and also very excited. Hannah’s blog is beautiful. She has such a talent for writing, a unique way of looking at things. I really look forward to reading her posts. The Liebster award aims to help bring attention to those just starting out in blogging, help increase their blog’s publicity.

The rules are:
Thank and link the person who nominated you.
Answer the questions given by the nominator.
Nominate 11 other bloggers, who have less than 200 followers and link them.
Create 11 new questions for the nominees to answer.
Notify all nominees via social media/blogs.

Why do you blog?
I have a friend she’s the same age as me. She has one child. She is a doctor. She should be happy, but she’s not. Not really. I was wondering why I was happy, why I feel so grateful for the life that I have, yet she had at least as much as me and isn’t happy. I also thought if I were her, what would I do to start enjoying my life. How do I tell her what to change in her life to be happy. The answer for me was to blog about it.

How did you come up with the name for your blog?
It comes back to being happy, the living life to the fullest. My name is Merri, so only a little pun intended.

Which of your blog posts are you most proud of and why?
Chocolate is the post I am most proud of. It’s my first with a picture, and the chocolate protein balls are really delicious and healthy. It is the start really. It gave me a clue about which way I wanted this blog to head.

Do you believe in soul mates?
Yes, I got lucky, I married him.

If you could travel anywhere, where would it be?
I’ve travelled a fair bit. Again lucky. Turkey is on my list, but we will be going there in a couple of months. I’d love to see the Northern Lights. China and India are also on the list, basically I would go almost anywhere.

Are you a morning person or a night person?
Definitely night, which doesn’t work so well with a get up, get the kids to school lifestyle!

What is your favorite book and why?
I love Harry Potter. I also love the Game of Thrones books and Philippa Gregory’s historical fiction books about the Middle Ages also fascinate me. I should apologise now for not nominating a classic piece of literature. I have read some, and To Kill a Mockingbird is one of my favorites.

What are three things you want to do before you die?
I want to see the choices my kids make with their own lives. I want to see them happy and I want to meet my grandchildren. I also want to travel the world some more, especially the country I call home. The third thing I want to do before I die is to write a book, but this may never happen.

What is one piece of advice you wish someone had given you when you were younger?
Not to worry so much. I’ve learnt that a lot of the things I worried about as a teenager and young adult don’t really matter. Follow your instinct and do what you believe is right, cos you know whether or not what you are doing or going to do is right.

If you had the opportunity to switch lives with someone, would you take it? If so, who would it be?
I wouldn’t swap, not now, but I’d love to travel through history, and experience life in other times.

What is your definition of identity and what do you believe creates identity?
Identity is who you are. It’s physical. It’s emotional. It’s all-encompassing. It’s how someone else would describe you.

The blogs I nominate are:

Always thinking I’m Fat
Aubreyeicher
Lifting Beauty
Miss Maple
Hookiebee
Coach for Flow
Porporrina
Musing Simplicity
Foodie in the Making
Tottenhamrichos

My questions for you are:

1. Where do you find the inspiration for your posts?
2. Do you have a goal for blogging, and what is it?
3. Who do you admire most?
4. What do you enjoy most about your blog?
5. What would your favorite 3 course dinner be?
6. Who is your favorite author and why?
7. Do you like to travel, if so, where is your favorite place you have been to?
8. What is the motto you live by?
9. How old do you wish you could be forever and why?
10. Do your speak another language besides English and what is it?
11. What do you like to do in your spare time?

Leave a Reply

