The Spoils of Cherry Picking

So, as usual we picked too many cherries, way to many, when we went cherry picking (See my post titled Cherry Picking https://howtobemerri.wordpress.com/2014/12/27/cherry-picking/). We took cherries to my Brother-in-laws place Christmas Eve. We took them to Nonna’s place Christmas Day. We still had more, a lot more. So I decided, as I do most years, we needed cherry jam (recipe here http://www.gourmettraveller.com.au/recipes/recipe-search/feature-recipe/2009/2/cherry-vanilla-jam/). As usual we still have jam left from last year, but we must have more!

I really enjoy preserving food. I love (making) chutney. We haven’t bought jam for a few years now. Jamie and I LOVE homemade tomato sauce, so much so that I struggle to eat the bought version now. We ran out last year. There were tears, maybe they were mine!! It’s tomato season now. Time to find the time, and good ripe tomatoes to make more.

But for now all I have managed is Cherry Vanilla jam. It set. It tastes good. We still have more cherries, will probably have more jam soon too!

xxx Merri

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/24c/75352241/files/2015/01/img_0017.jpg

Leave a Reply

